The title page of the first book edition The Dead Secret published in two volumes by Bradbury & Evans, 1857

Bernhard Tauchnitz published 28 books by Wilkie Collins. The Dead Secret was the third. Originally published as volume IV a series Novels and Tales from Household Words ed. Charles Dickens, this later reprint puts Wilkie's name on the title page. The title page retains the date of first printing even in much later reprints. It also contains other stories but only one in vol.II 'The Queen's Revenge' is by Wilkie.

All material on these pages is Paul Lewis 1997-2000